Episode 115: Moheb Soliman with V Conaty

Poet and interdisciplinary artist Moheb Soliman sits down with V Conaty at AWP in Seattle to talk about his debut collection HOMES and much more.

Dear Listener,

By the time you hear this episode, my last (for now) with Commonplace, I will have moved and be living in a new town, smaller than New York, in what poet and interdisciplinary artist Moheb Soliman refers to as "flyover country." I’m looking at this move as an adventure into the unknown that is, in some sense, also a return. Though I've never lived in Pennsylvania before, having grown up in Birmingham, I do come from that largely invisible middle of the country.

When I was in Seattle in March for AWP–my first trip to the West Coast–my partner and I hadn’t begun talking about moving. But the conversations I had that week–both recorded and behind the scenes–seemed to circle around questions of locality and belonging. One afternoon, Rachel and I were walking from our Airbnb in Capitol Hill–she to the Conference Center and I to the hotel across the street to speak with Moheb–when she asked if I thought I’d stay in New York long term. I said I didn’t know–but at the time, the conversation was purely theoretical. So when Moheb and I sat down for our conversation, place and belonging were already on my mind.

Moheb Soliman is an interdisciplinary poet from Egypt and the Midwest who's presented work at literary, art, and public spaces in the US, Canada, and abroad with support from the Joyce Foundation, Banff Centre, Minnesota State Arts Board, and diverse other institutions. He has degrees from The New School for Social Research and University of Toronto and lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where he was Program Director for the Arab American lit and film organization Mizna before receiving a multi-year Tulsa Artist Fellowship and this year a Milkweed Editions fellowship. His debut poetry collection HOMES (Coffee House Press, 2021), explores nature, modernity, identity, belonging, and sublimity through the site of the Great Lakes bioregion / borderland. Moheb has been a finalist for the Minnesota Book Awards, Heartland Booksellers Award, and others, and was showcased in Ecotone's annual indie press shortlist and the Poets & Writers annual 10 debut poets feature. See more of his work at www.mohebsoliman.info.

I would never have guessed then that when I began editing this episode I would be going through such a significant change in my relationship to place. Listening to this conversation, I’m struck with the clarity with which both of us talk about feelings of belonging and connection to place (even as I was struggling through brutal jetlag!). We discuss how Moheb’s debut collection HOMES became a book, regionalism as a creative and critical practice, the poetics of the watershed, the coasts and the “third coasts” of the Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico, cultivating a non-extractive relationship to place, immigrant, indigenous, and settler narratives of the Great Lakes, timelessness vs. timeliness, and memory. You can listen to episode 115 right here.

A note from Rachel:

If you can, PLEASE consider becoming a Commonplace patron or making a one time donation to the podcast or to the new Commonplace School of Embodied Poetics!

My new class, “Reading with Rachel,” a 12-month, one-book-a-month online reading and making group, starts in September 26th and there are still spaces left. There are two engagement levels—one for folks who just want to read and listen. The other for folks who want to read, listen and also make things in response to a shared text. You can sign up for one session (if a particular book strikes your interest), you can buy a 6-pack, or you can join me for all 12–a full year of being together. There are discounts for BIPOC, LGBTQ, full time caretakers and disabled folx, and as always, one of the core tenets of the Commonplace School for Embodied Poetics is that no one will be turned away for lack of funds. Sign up to join me!

If you’d like to know more about “Reading with Rachel” or anything having to do with the new school please join me on Tuesday September 12th at 7pm ET for a COMMONPLACE SCHOOL TOWN HALL!

Thank you for listening,

With love,

V